“No!”

via Daily Prompt: Rebel

 

“Not that dress! It will make me look like a baby! Who wears pink?”

“But… you bought it”

“No..Amma… not for this party…My friends will make fun of me…”

“Ah!” , Smitha sighed.

“Do these pearls look good on me?”

“Yes… they are lovely”

“No… you are lying Amma…they make me look like a 90-year old. Let me try that choker”

“O No… this looks disgusting” she replied looking into the mirror, though her mother thought that it looked good on her. But she knew it was wiser to remain mum.

“Let me try the simple golden chain with the rose pendant….O but where are its matching earrings?”

Her mother shrugged her shoulders as her daughter rummaged through her wardrobe, looking for the perfect dress and the perfect set of jewellery to go with it. Her mother watched with rising temper as her daughter pulled, tried and threw on the bed, dress after dress.

“What is this???There is nothing worthy of wearing! Amma…” she screamed and turned to her mother.

“Nothing to wear ??? Look at all the dresses lying on the floor… And yet you say nothing to wear?” yelled back her mother.

“I have decided…No party for you today… And you are to fold all these dresses back neatly into the cupboard. Is that clear?”

There was hint of steel in her mother’s voice and so she thought it best not to argue.

Few hours later.

“Sometimes mothers have to rebel too when they have a teenage daughter who rebels at the drop of a hat… They need to be taught not to take their mothers for granted” said Smitha to her husband laughing.

 

 

 

Leave a comment